7 Teams That Have Won Back To Back Super Bowls

Unfortunately, there will not be a repeat Super Bowl Champion this year. Tom Brady had the chance to repeat for the second time in his career, but the Los Angeles Rams eliminated his Buccaneers in the Divisional Round.

Even though there will not be a repeat champion this year, let’s look back at the history of Back-to-Back Super Bowl Champions.

Back To Back Super Bowl Winners

Green Bay Packers (1966, 1967)

Vince Lombardi led the Green Bay Packers to back-to-back Super Bowl Victories in 1966 and 1967, which was also the first two years the Super Bowl was introduced. It’s also no coincidence that the winning team received the Lombardi Trophy, named after the legendary coach, Vince Lombardi.

Miami Dolphins (1972, 1973)

The 1972 Miami Dolphins are still the only NFL team to go through the regular season ad postseason undefeated. The 1973 Dolphins had a tough act to follow but came close to doing just that. The 1972 Dolphins went 12-2 in the regulars season, rolled right through the playoffs, and beat the Minnesota Vikings to win back-to-back Super Bowl titles.

Pittsburgh Steelers (1974, 1975)

The 1974 and 1975 Pittsburgh Steelers did the same thing right after the Miami Dolphins won back-to-back titles. The ’70s were dominated by the steelers, so much so that they were given the nickname “Steel Curtain.”

(1978, 1979)

Three years after going back-to-back, the Steelers decided to do it again. Winning four titles in six seasons is the definition of dominance. Behind the “Steel Curtain” and quarterback Terry Bradshaw, the Steelers put up 80 wins (including the playoffs) between 1974 and 1975. By far more than any team in that span.

San Francisco 49ers (1988,1989)

Led by Joe Montana and Jerry Rice, the 49ers went back-to-back in 1988 and 1989. In ‘88, their Super Bowl win came down to the wire; then, in 1989, they won it in blowout fashion by beating the Denver Broncos 55-10, which still stands as the largest margin of victory in Super Bowl history.

Dallas Cowboys (1992,1993)

In the ’90s, The Cowboys were led by a three-headed monster, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, and Michael Irvin. In 1992 the Cowboys dismantled the Buffalo Bills 52-17, earning their first Super Bowl win since the ‘70s. 1993 was no different; the Cowboys once again cruised right past the Buffalo Bills with a 30-13 victory for their second straight Super Bowl win.

Denver Broncos (1997, 1998)

Led by John Elway, the Denver Broncos were the first AFC team to repeat since the ‘70s when the Steelers did it twice. John Elway retired the right way, knocking off the Green Bay Packers for his first title, then riding off into the sunset after beating the Atlanta Falcons in 1998.

New England Patriots (2003, 2004)

The back-to-back Super Bowl titles in 2003 and 2004 started the Patriots Dynasty. The repeat titles marked the third title in four years. Under the due of Bill Belichick and Tom Brady, the Patriots would become one of the most dominant teams in NFL History.

2022 Super Bowl Prediction

I thought Tom Brady and the Bucs had an excellent opportunity to repeat. Matthew Stafford and the Rams had other plans. The NFC West champion Rams could knock off the Tampa Bay Buccaneers thanks to Matthew Stafford and Cooper Kupp.

Speaking of the Los Angeles Rams, the Rams are my pick to win Super Bowl LVI. Thinking about it, we may have a repeat of some Super Bowl history if my prediction comes true. If the Rams can complete two more wins, it would be the second time in NFL history that a team won a Super Bowl in their stadium. When was the last time it was done? The Tampa Bay Buccaneers won last year’s Super Bowl in Raymon James Stadium’s home stadium.

As for their opponent, I like the back-to-back AFC Champions, Kansas City Chiefs, to make their third straight Super Bowl appearance. The Chiefs could become the fourth team in NFL history to appear in three or more straight Super Bowls if they can get back to the big game this year.

Current Super Bowl Odds

You can place your future Super Bowl bets on these NFL Betting Sites, Be sure to take advantage of their welcome bonuses and promotions.

Chiefs +120

Rams +200

49ers +475

Bengals +800

Kurt Blakeway – Sporting Betting Analyst

Kurt is a Sports Betting Analyst for Safest Betting Sites. He enjoys all things MLB, NFL, CFB, and CBB. While he is a fan first, he is always trying to gain an edge on the books to make money.