Who holds the record for the fastest century in Twenty20 cricket?

Twenty20 cricket, in its current form, has only been part of the cricketing landscape since 2003, but has quickly become the most popular form of the game. Twenty20 cricket effectively removes the fear of dismissal, allowing batsmen to make brave, albeit risky, decisions. The end result is an average run rate of 7, 8 or more runs per over, compared with, say, 3 or 4 runs per over in Test cricket, so the appeal of the short form to a younger audience is not hard to see.

When it comes to the centuries in the 20-over format, the fastest ever was that recorded by former West Indian Test captain Chris Gayle for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors India in the Indian Premier League in Bengaluru, or Bangalore, on April 23, 2013. Gayle reached his hundred off just 30 balls, on his way to an unbeaten 175 off 66 balls, which included 17 sixes and 13 fours. It’s quite some record, comparable to an unlikely yet very welcome online casinos win!

In international Twenty20 cricket, the record for the fastest century is held, jointly, by South African David Miller, who took 35 balls for his hundred against Bangladesh in Potchefstroom on October 29, 2017 and Indian Rohit Sharma, who achieved the same feat against Sri Lanka at Indore on December 22 the same year. Interestingly, Miller was dropped by Bangladeshi wicket keeper Niroshan Dickwella off the second ball of his innings, without scoring.