Who scored the fastest recorded try in a rugby union match?

Who scored the fastest recorded try in a rugby union match? According to Guinness World Records, the fastest recorded try in a rugby union match is credited to Doncaster Knights’ winger Tyson Lewis, who scored after just 7.24 seconds against Old Albanians in a National Clubs Association (NCA) Rugby match in St. Albans in 2013. At professional level, the same source credits Leeds Carnegie winger Lee Blackett, who scored after 8.26 seconds against Newcastle Falcons in a Premiership match at Headingley in 2008, with the fastest recorded try.

That said, in a World Rugby Junior World Championship match in Pukekohe, New Zealand in 2014 Wales’ wing Dafydd Howells chased down the kick-off and scored after 7 seconds against Fiji; although his effort was not ‘officially’ recognised, it was one of the fastest, if not the fastest, try ever scored in international rugby union.

As records stand, at senior international, or ‘Test’, level, Scottish centre John Leslie, who scored direct from kick-off against Wales in the last ever Five Nations match at Murrayfield in 1999, in less than 10 seconds, is credited with the fastest try ever. At the Rugby World Cup, Australian fly-half Elton Flatley crossed the line just 18 seconds after kick-off against Romania at Lang Park, Brisbane in 2003 and holds the record for fastest try in that sphere.

In horse racing, what is the so-called ‘poverty line’?

In horse racing, what is the so-called 'poverty line'? The term ‘poverty line’ is believed to date from the eighteenth century, when it was first used by horsemen to describe a deep depression between two large muscles in the hindquarters of horses that were extremely underweight and/or generally in poor condition,

Despite the negative connotations of the name, the poverty line is evident in most horses, with the exception of those that are obese. In the latter case, fat coverage may obscure the muscles of the hindquarters – the biceps femoris, semitendinosus and semimembranosus muscles, collectively known as the ‘hamstrings’ – rendering the poverty line invisible.

On the other hand, a pronounced poverty line may not, necessarily, indicate that a horse – especially a thoroughbred racehorse – is receiving anything less than premium care and nutrition, or suffering from an ailment. Indeed, thoroughbred racehorses are typically maintained in lean condition and tight, well-defined muscles in the hindquarters demonstrate that a horse is ‘hard fit’ and ready to run to the best of its ability, conditions permitting. For this reason, experienced paddock watchers pay close attention to the poverty line, or the lack of it, in horses that are making their seasonal debut, or returning from a break, by way of establishing their likely fitness levels.

Which are the largest and smallest stadia in the Premier League?

Which are the largest and smallest stadia in the Premier League? It is fairly well-known that Old Trafford, the home of Manchester United, which has a seating capacity of 74,879, is the largest stadium in the Premier League. Indeed, Old Trafford is second only to Wembley Stadium, which has a seating capacity of 90,000, in the list of the largest football stadia in the British Isles. It’s certainly the case that Manchester, with it’s vibrant nightlife and best payout casinos, has benefited greatly from the popularity and presence of Manchester United football club. As far as the Premier League is concerned, the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, which officially opened in April, 2019, is the second largest stadium, with a seating capacity of 62,062.

At the other end of the scale, Dean Court, a.k.a. the Vitality Stadium, the home of AFC Bournemouth, is veritably tiny by comparison and its seating capacity 11,364 makes it, far and way, the smallest stadium in the Premier League. The second smallest stadium in the Premier League, Turf Moor, home of Burnley FC, has a seating capacity of 21,944 but, to put that figure in perspective, the entire population of Burnley is in the region of 88,000, so the football stadium has capacity for 25% of the population. Remarkably, the record attendance at Turf Moor was 54,755, but that was in 1924, long before the days of the Premier League. It’s a different world now, all online blackjack , coronavirus and health and safety regulations. Getting 1000 in a stadium right now would turn heads!

After Nicklaus and Woods, which golfer has won the most majors?

After Nicklaus and Woods, which golfer has won the most majors? Golf is of course a big money sport, that puts short attention span types like me – I’m as likely to be found browsing mobile casinos on the course, as I am strategising –  to shame.  In golf, the four major championships are, in the order they appear in the calendar, the Masters, US Open, Open Championship and PGA Championship. Jack Nicklaus won all four at least three times apiece between 1962 and 1986, for a total of 18 wins, while Tiger Woods did likewise between 1997 and 2019, for a total of 15 wins. Of course, Woods is still active on the PGA Tour but, at the age of 44, with his recent career blighted by back and knee injuries, it remains to be seen if he will ever overhaul Nicklaus’ record.

In any event, unlike Nicklaus and Woods, the golfer who comes next in the all-time list of major championship winners never completed a so-called ‘Career Grand Slam’ by winning all four majors at least once during his career. The golfer in question is, of course, Walter ‘The Haig’ Hagen, whose career stretched into the Forties – that is, after the inauguration of the Masters, as the ‘Augusta National Invitational’, in 1934 – but was in his heyday in the Twenties. A contemporary of Bobby Jones and Gene Sarazen, Hagen opened his major championship account, as a 22-year-old, in the 1914 US Open. He won the same tournament again in 1919 and subsequently won the PGA Championship five times, in 1921, 1924, 1925, 1926 and 1927, and the Open Championship four times, in 1922, 1924, 1928 and 1929. His career total of 11 major championship wins is two ahead of Ben Hogan and Gary Player, with nine wins apiece. These guys are in a different league. I had best get back to my online baccarat casinos I think, or better still, the drawing board!

1 2 3 4 5 16